Iron Fist – Episode 1 Review

Marvel’s Iron Fist recently launched on Netflix. I will be reviewing each episode individually on my site. The first season is 13 episodes. The reviews will be spoiler-free.

I’ll get this out of the way at the beginning. The first episode is not great; it’s solidly meh. I maintain that Daredevil Season 1 is the best opening episode for the Netflix shows.

The acting is not great. Tom Pelphrey (Ward Meachum) has a couple low moments in this episode but wooden acting is displayed frequently in this series premier. Our star, Finn Jones, displays some questionable acting times, but he’s passable for the most part.

The women of the show are certainly doing the best acting-wise. Both Jessica Henwick (Colleen Wing) and Jessica Stroup (Joy Meachum) were the best performers by far.

The choreography is not as crisp as Daredevil. The fighting is so forgettable, not that there’s much of it. The action looks plain weak. Aside from that, there are immediate narrative issues.  I found myself wondering why Danny didn’t just do X instead of the decisions he made. It was frustrating to watch.

All that said, the show kept my interest. I never felt like stopping the show. All I can hope is that it improves as it goes on.

Voice your opinon...

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

