Bernie Sanders and the Greatness of America

Before I get into this, I want to say I’m not ignoring the many issues that this country has. I talk about them with my friends and on Facebook often. But these issues don’t have to preclude making our country better.

I make no secret of the fact that I support Senator Bernie Sanders in his bid for the Democratic Nomination for the White House. I look at the field of candidates on both sides, and I don’t like what I see. Most of the talking heads on TV will tell you that the core Bernie Sanders supporters are people that are dissatisfied with our political system as it currently operates or young people that are idealistic (read: naive). His critics and opponents say that his goals are impossible.

I would have to disagree with that analysis. Bernie Sanders looks at our friends around the world, and he sees that so many of them offer universal healthcare coverage. He looks at how in the modern United States, having a college degree is now a basic requirement for good jobs. He sees how many major nations offer free higher education and wonders why the United States can’t do the same.

I have to agree with him. Why can’t the United States offer these things if so many other nations can? I thought this was the United States. This is the first country to defeat a European power for independence. This is the first country to develop a nuclear weapon (a huge accomplishment regardless of feelings on their use). This is the first, and only, country to put an actual human being on the moon. This is a nation that has done so many great things, and it is a nation that is capable of doing so much more. I think about these things, and I wonder when did so many people stop believing in the greatness of this country? When did our politicians stop believing in the greatness of this country?

I don’t support Bernie Sanders because he believes in crazy ideas, I support Bernie Sanders because he believes in America…And unfortunately, he seems to be the only candidate on either side that does.

2 thoughts on “Bernie Sanders and the Greatness of America

Add yours

Voice your opinon...

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

